Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Salt Lake Institute of Genealogy Registration Opens Saturday

Registration for the Salt Lake Institute of Genealogy (SLIG) opens this Saturday, June 4, 2011 at 9:00am Mountain Time (8am Pacific, 10am Central and 11am Eastern). There is a great lineup of courses for the institute which will be held January 23 - 27, 2012 at the Salt Lake City Radisson Hotel. Some classes may fill quickly so register as soon as possible. The full brochure is now available on the Salt Lake Institute of Genealogy website, and this is the same link to begin the registration process.

I have attended the Salt Lake Institute of Genealogy in 2009 and 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed it. This last January I was in the Advanced Genealogical Methods course with Tom Jones and it was excellent! I am excited to be coordinating a new practicum course for SLIG for 2012 on Advanced Evidence Analysis. See my previous post with all the details.

The FGS Radio "My Society" Show will feature the Utah Genealogical Society and the Salt Lake Institute of Genealogy this Saturday at 1:00pm Central (Noon Mountain, 11:00am Pacific and 2:00pm Eastern). See http://www.blogtalkradio.com/mysociety for details and to tune in.

Here are the Salt Lake Institute of Genealogy courses for 2012:

Course 1: American Research and Records: Focus on Families
Paula Stuart-Warren, CG, FUGA

Course 2: Advanced New England Research
D. Joshua Taylor, MA, MLS

Course 3: Welsh Research
Darris Williams, AG

Course 4: Swedish Research
Geoffery Fröberg Morris, AG

Course 5: Midwest U.S. Research
Kory Meyerink, BS, MLS, AG, FUGA

Course 6: Genealogy Software and Research Tools
George G. Morgan

Course 7: Principles of Effective Genealogy Librarianship
Drew Smith, MLS

Course 8: Beyond the Library, Using Original Source Repositories
John Philip Colletta, Ph.D., FUGA

Course 9: Advanced Methodological Methods
Thomas W. Jones, Ph.D., CG, CGL, FASG, FUGA, FNGS

Course 10: Advanced Evidence Analysis Practicum
Angela Packer McGhie

Course 11: Advanced Research Tools: Land Records
Pamela Boyer Sayre, CG, GCL and Richard G. Sayre, CG

Course 12: Problem Solving
Judith Hansen, BS, MLS, AG

PLENARY SESSION -- Monday, January 23, 2012 at 7:00 PM
Thomas W. Jones will be presenting “The Genealogical Proof Standard: What It Is and What It Is Not”

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post a Comment