Wednesday, December 18, 2013

IGHR Registration to Open on January 21, 2014

Every year I get excited for the Institute of  Genealogy and Historical Research. In my opinion it is one of the best genealogy education options available.There are ten courses to choose from and registration is set for Tuesday, January 21, 2014. Mark your calendars, as some courses will fill within minutes.

In order to accommodate the high level of interest in this institute, there is a rolling system of opening registration for two courses at a time. This will begin at 11:00 a.m. Eastern time (10:00 a.m. Central, 9:00 a.m. Mountain, 8:00 a.m. Pacific). A link will be provided on the IGHR Registration page ( to the online registration at that time. If this is your first time registering, or if you just want a refresher on what to expect, please consult the downloadable online registration guide (

Here is the registration schedule for January 21st:

Opening at 10:00 AM CST:
Course 1: Techniques & Technology
Course 7: Researching African American Genealogy: 20th Century Research

Opening at 10:30 AM CST:
Course 2: Intermediate Genealogy and Historical Studies
Course 9: Advanced Library Research: Law Libraries & Government Documents

Opening at 11:00 AM CST:
Course 4: Writing and Publishing for Genealogists
Course 8: The Trans-Mississippi South

Opening at 11:30 AM CST:
Course 5: Military Records I
Course 6: Irish Genealogical Research
Course 10:  Virginia: Her Records and Her Laws

Every year, some courses fill up in a matter of minutes, so be sure to be wherever you have your fastest internet connection at registration time.

The Institute itself will take place on June 8-13, 2014.

For more information, including the courses being offered and how to register on Jan. 21, visit the IGHR website at

IMPORTANT NOTE: Advanced Methodology and Evidence Analysis (formerly Course 4) will not be offered in 2014. For more information about this and other changes see the IGHR homepage at

No comments:

Post a Comment